Guwahati, Assam
Home News BTC under governor`s rule

BTC under governor`s rule

BTC under governor`s rule

BTC comprising four districts - Kokrajhar, Udalguri, Chirang and Baksa has been imposed under Governor`s Rule as the term of the general council of BTC had expired on Monday,April 27th. The election which were scheduled for April 4th has been deferred indefinitely due to ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.


The Goveror of Assam, Jagdish Mukhi in exercise of the powers conferred by sub-paragraph(2) of paragraph 16 of the Sixth Schedule to the Constitution of India has assumed to himself the administration of the said districts and all functions and powers vested in or exercisable by the BTC shall be in place with immediate effect and remain in force for a period of six months.


The Governor in another notification has appointed senior IAS officer and Principal secretary to the State Government Rajesh Prasad as Administrator of BTC to exercise all the functions and powers exercisable by the BTC and it`s Executive Committee, Chief Executive Member and other representatives.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *